Uncategorized

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire


First thing’s first.

I wore real people clothes today (as opposed to the usual baggie, cross country shirts and leggings that I normally wear).

IMG_1416

 

Oversized (and by oversized, i mean oversized) flannel shirt – Forever 21

High wasted leggings – Forever 21

White t-shirt – Brandy Melville

Shoes – Vans: Off The Wall

Purse – RED by Mark Echo (Macy’s)

Today’s workout, staying true to my promise to take a few days off from running, I hit the elliptical for 45 minutes of HIIT.

Elevation = level 10

Warm up – 5 minutes

Peddling forward

5 minutes – starting at resistance 5, up resistance by one every minute

At highest resistance, peddle backwards for 2 minutes

peddle forwards 1 minute

bring resistance down to level 4 and SPRINT (steps per minute over 200) 1 minute

1 minute recovery

Repeat whole thing. This time peddling backwards.

Then I repeated it forwards again,

Woohoo!

About 5 miles accomplished!

After that I completed two Tone It Up Workouts (wow… shocker. I know.)

Image

The Cowabunga Workout

Image

And the Santorini Bikini Workout

Wow… I reeally didn’t do enough. I honestly just got really upset and self-conscious and anxious while I was doing my strength training and I had to leave the gym. I couldn’t handle it. Pathetic, I know.

On a lighter note…

Last night, at the lovely time of 8pm, I saw the “midnight” (not at midnight though) premiere of The Hunger Games: Catching Fire.

Capitol-Portraits-The-Hunger-Games-Catching-Fire

Like the teenage girl that I am, I looove the Hunger Games. I read them years ago, before they were a popular thing (oh, oh so hipster of me). The concept of dystopias have been a topic of interest to me ever since I read The City of Ember back in Fourth Grade.

I went with my best (and pretty much my only) friend here at college, Shannon. She also read the book so after the movie we, naturally, launched into a discussion of book vs. movie.

*WARNING: THERE MAY BE SOME VERY MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD*

The Good

  • For the most part, they did a really good job with casting. I found Johanna to be absolutely perfect for the part. Shannon and I also agreed that Plutarch, Maggs, and Wiress, and Beetee were all perfectly cast.
  • The entire portion of the movie that took place in the arena was absolutely perfect. They did an amazing job on it.
  • I cried about 25 times… Why is this good? Well, I know a movie is good if it makes me cry… I’m not weird at all…. Pssh..
  • Katniss’ wedding dress turned mocking jay was absolutely INCREDIBLE.

mocking_jay_animated_by_twilightlover865-d6hg1ka

 

The Ehhh….

  • Ok. They WAAAAYYY overdid the whole Katniss-Gale-Peeta-love-triangle thing… Gale kissed Katniss about 5 minutes into the movie and the second that it happened me and Shannon gave each other complete “WTF” looks… THAT DIDN’T HAPPEN IN THE BOOK. The thing is… I hate when they try to Hollywood up great stories to make them more appealing to the teeny-boppers. The story really isn’t about love. Love is a part of the story, yes. But the main point of the story is revolution, hope, survival, and Katniss’ unceasing desire to protect her family.
  • It’s always hard to make a movie out of a book where the character is talking in first person. In the book, we hear Katniss’ thoughts. We can see her starting to truly care for Peeta in a new way. We can see all of her inner conflicts. Of course, this not being portrayed right really can’t be helped. It just happens in movies.
  • They left out the part where Plutarch shows Katniss his watch while they are dancing… That’s pretty darn major.

Over-all i really loved the movie. I think they did an even better job with this one than the first and I am way too excited for the next one. I can’t wait.

Now if you will excuse me… I’m gonna go do some online Christmas shopping. May the odds be ever in your favor y’all!

Questions:

What are your favorite types of books to read?

Have you seen Catching Fire yet? What are your feelings about it?

Standard

Leave a Reply

