Uncategorized

Yooo… It’s Turkey Day!!!


Well… First and foremost… Happy Thanksgiving!!!

I know that I haven’t posted in a couple of days. See, I got home really late on Monday, I didn’t really feel like posting anything. I was too busy running around my house yelling about how much I love it (true story). Tuesday was spent running a million and one errands and then spending some quality (and much needed) time with my mom and brother.

Yesterday (Wednesday) was alumni day at my high school. Honestly, last year at alumni day, I looked at all the alumni coming back to visit the school and thought, “Why the heck would any one ever want to come back here?” And then there I was, waking up at 8 to go to a school mass at my old high school.

I had a great day. I met up with two of my friends from cross country (we all tackle-hugged each other, it was great), and my absolute best friend in the world. We all went inside, saw people, went to mass, mingled, spoke to old favorite teachers. It was just such a great day and I am so glad that I made myself go to it.

Now, finally, onto today!

First off… Happy Thanksgiving!! (Did I already say this?)

I started my day off bright and early (ok it was actually 9, which really isn’t early at all), laced up, and headed off to my local turkey trot!

IMG_1664

I know that all towns have different forms of turkey trots, some being 5ks, some being longer. The turkey trot by me is a 5 miler and the proceeds to to muscle dystrophy and lymphoma research!

The turkey trot is something that I look forward to every year. It is such a fun run, and it is so amazing to see so many people out on a cold morning  and running together.

IMG_1660

I think that the thing that makes me happiest about races like the turkey trot, is all of the different aged people there. I saw  people running that were well over 70, and I also saw kids that looked no older than 10. Running is just such a universal sport. It really is for everyone. It makes me so happy.

I finished with the clock time of …. 42.01 … I’m kind of grossed out. Did I run it like a race? No. But still… two years ago I ran it with an average pace of 7:50…. I’m just kind of disgusted with myself and how fat and not in shape I feel. I know that a lot of it is supposedly just that little monster in my head making me see things that aren’t really there… but I can’t help but think these things.

After the race, I saw that they were giving out full sized Zico chocolate coconut water. Being the coconut water enthusiast and broke college student that I am…. I was sooo all over that. I waited in line and… the person before my got the last one! So sad.

IMG_1662

After the race, I showered, and then it was time to get to work!

So much baking. So much cleaning. So much rocking out to the Rolling Stones with my totally awesome mother.

Ever since my father passed away a couple of years ago, Thanksgiving has been a really small affair for us. It’s kind of just an open house over here. My grandparents and my grandpa’s brother come over, my neighbors (who happen to be my aunt, cousins, and great aunt) pop in at some point normally, and sometimes a couple of my mom’s brothers and their families pop in. It’s just a whole bunch of people coming and going. Sometimes it’s kind of sad, but at the same time, I love just sitting down with my grandparents and talking and hearing stories. I really am blessed to have the close family that I do have. I am so… well… thankful!

IMG_1680

The spread

IMG_1681

My plate… my favorite part was the brussel sprouts. I have such an unhealthily large love for brussel sprouts.

IMG_1665I

I made these traditional turkey cupcakes!

I hope that you all had a great thanksgiving. I have so much to be thankful for. I have a wonderful mother and brother. I have a family that is super super super close. I have cousins that are like siblings to me. I have grandparents that I love to the moon and back and get to see all the time. I have legs. I can run. I can work out. I have a home. I have a couple of friends that are pretty much the greatest people in the world. I am so thankful. I don’t say it enough. None of us do. There is so much to be thankful for.

Remember that.

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

