Uncategorized

I think my legs may just fall off…


But it’s ok…

Image

Oh so true.

Remember yesterday when I said how excited/scared I was for today’s workout? Oh, well I had every single reason to be scared.

Insanity Asylum Vertical Plyo is, hands down, the hardest workout I have ever done in my life.

I’ve done all of the Insanity workouts, I’ve done P90x workouts, I’ve done TurboJam, I’ve done Jillian Michaels.

Those are all, honestly, cake walks in comparison to this workout.

Let me get into this for a moment. The workout starts with a “warm up” (if you are familiar with Insanity, the warm ups are as tough as workouts normally are) that is more difficult than I have ever experiences. There are split lunges with a jump rope, squat jumps with the jump rope, double jumps, and hop scotches with the jumprope. There are long jumps and pushups and jumps… oh my.

After, like in every other Insanity video in the history of ever, you go into a quick stretch. I swear, my legs were already to give out at this point and it was only about 10 minutes in to the 40 minute workout.

Then the torture fun really begins….

The main workout was filled with a large amount of EXTREME moves from, “switch-kick mountain climbers” to “one legged power jumps,” (oh my God). The “active recovery” was double jump ropes, which are essentially high jumps. Yeah. Some recovery. There were no water breaks, there were no real rests. There was you, Shaun T, and pain, lots of pain.

Tough doesn’t even begin to describe this workouts. It’s one of those workouts that you need to push yourself in order to get better. These moves are… well… insane (hehehe) and you need to push your body to it’s limits. During the last couple of moves, my legs were shaking to the point that I could only to the workouts very slowly. I don’t know about you, but I get really upset and down on myself when I see people in a workout video doing moves that I struggle to do. I had to keep reminding myself that the people in the Asylum videos are, as Shaun T says, the elite. It’s ok to not be able to keep up with them in beginning. Everyone is on their own fitness journey. It’s ok to go slowly. I will improve. And besides, form over speed, form over speed.

After working out, I was reduced to a sweaty heap on the floor… oops.

Before all of this fun/torture began (I didn’t workout until pretty late last night), I did something really fun.

I went into the city with my best friend!

Image

There really is nothing quite like New York City at Christmas time. Actually, there’s nothing quite like New York City in general. Someone remind me why I chose to move away for college?

Of course, we had to go and see the tree…

Image

 

Sorry to the random people in my photograph >.<.

It wound up getting cold pretty fast, so we wound up only staying in the city for a couple of hours, but I would still say that it was a successful trip. We saw the tree and some store windows, plus I dragged Cody (my best friend) into Urban Outfitters to look at vinyls with me! Also, any day spent with my best friend is a good day. It was so nice to see him. Oh gosh I’m just still so happy to be home. I can’t believe that it’s already been a week.

Time needs to slow down!

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

