Uncategorized

Working Girl + Some Random Updates


Well… my busy schedule just got a little bit busier…

I got a job!

I will now be working a 25 hour work week… Wow, I am so nervous and so excited at the same time.

Friday morning, I had my interview at 9:30 in the morning. Since I don’t have a car, I had to walk to the mile and a half to the place, meaning I had to leave early. It was a beautiful morning…

And then it wasn’t…

Image

It started pouring 15 minutes into my walk to work… I didn’t have a jacket or an umbrella… It also got really cold all of a sudden.

I was not a happy camper. I also had to go into my interview soaking wet, not exactly the best first impression to make. I seriously walked in and apologized a million and one times for the fact that I was soaking wet. I seriously did NOT think that I was going to get the job, I looked sloppy and I was tripping over my words due to nerves. All I could think about was the fact that I was going to not get the job and then have to walk home sadly in the rain.

But somehow, I got it!

Another highlight from last weeks was our first fitness evaluation in my biokinetics class. How biokinetics works is that it takes place in both the classroom and in the gym/on the track. We learn about the way the body works and then put that learning to the test outside.  I’m really loving it.

On Wednesday, we had our first fitness evaluation, which was a timed mile. We started with a 1/2 mile jog warm up, squats and lunges, and then we ran our mile. It wasn’t full out or race pace, but it was still for time so we were expected to push. I was so scared that I would finish last and be super embarrassed, but I wound up being the first girl to finish and even beat a couple of the boys! 7:04 seconds, definitely not what I would consider good at all, but it wasn’t race pace. I’m aiming for 6:40 at the next evaluation.

And now for some random updates on my life that you probably don’t care about…

IMG_0506

 

Here’s a picture of my current lunch obsession. I’ve been addicted to dipping broccoli in honey mustard. My cafeteria also makes these really good wheat berry/cranberry/quinoa salads.. Bread is (unfortunately) always necessary for me.

IMG_0544

 

I also have apparently been spelling my name wrong my entire life.

IMG_0549

Did this workout from Tone It Up yesterday and felt great! It’s been a while since I’ve felt great during a workout.

IMG_0551

 

Watched Tangled with my friend Shannon last night and cried (ok not really) about our single-ness.

 

How have your lives been lately?

Standard

One thought on “Working Girl + Some Random Updates

  1. Pingback: Wave Rider 17s and Lots of Bread |

Leave a Reply

