Uncategorized

Hope


Hey! I really wanted to talk about this yesterday, but I seriously did not have a single moment to breathe yesterday. I had 2 really hard tests (both of which I did really poorly on…) and then, between those two tests, I had a meeting, worked out, and met up with people for a group project that we had to present today. I really didn’t have a moment to sit down and write a blog post, but there is something that I am super happy about that I really wanted to share with you guys!

I’m not 100% sure if I have mentioned this here before (I think I have), but after this year, I am transferring schools and changing my major to journalism. I love fitness, I do, and I am still going to pursue getting a personal training certification and work in a gym while I am in college, but I want to write. As far as a career goes, I have always been all over the place, I am passionate about so many different things, but none of them are as straight-foward as  the normals doctor-lawyer-teacher kind of deal… Writing, music, fashion, art, photography… I want to do it all, and I can’t. But writing has been the one thing that I have consistently wanted to do since I was in kindergarten. I want to write books. Stories. I want to make people feel things. I know that it will be near impossible to make a career just as an author, but I would love to write other things to… and that gets me to the main point that I want to make in this post.

I have already mentioned that I had to write a paper on Miley Cyrus’ VMA performance for  my writing class, and yesterday I had a meeting with my writing professor to discuss my final paper.

Now let me just say that my writing professor is someone that I look up to like crazy. I had her last semester for creative writing and she is probably one of the coolest people ever. Before becoming a professor, she was a music critic and she has all these cool writer friends and she’s like just one of those cool creative people with really cool opinions… I just really look up to her and I have so much respect for her.

I entered her office and the first thing that she said to me was that she didn’t really have anything to say to me… that my paper didn’t really need any revision. There are no words how amazing it was to hear that.

She called me bright and told me that I’m a good writer. The fact that somebody that I look up to so much thinks that I’m a good writer, and was supportive of my decision to change majors, just meant the world to me.

I am just so excited… I’m ready to make a life for myself.

Standard

Leave a Reply

