Uncategorized

Eating Disorder Awareness Week – Fast Facts from NEDA and Some of My Favorite Resources


Hello all, I just realized that I wrote out this post at the beginning of the week and never actually published it… Whoops.

You may or may not know that this week is National Eating Disorder Awareness Week. In fact, on February 25th (Tuesday), the Empire State Building was lit up green and blue in support of ED awareness!

I know that I have offhandedly mentioned this here, but I have been in recovery from an eating disorder for about 3 years now. Like most people, I constantly teeter between recovery and relapse, and unfortunately, my mind is still more towards the latter, while my body is definitely in the prior. I had a whole post about it 3 years ago when I first started this blog (has it really been that long?), but I deleted it a year later, along with a majority of my posts because I didn’t want that to be what my blog was about. I wanted this blog to be a positive place, and I didn’t want my eating disorder to define my blog.

At the same time, this blog is about my life, and my eating disorder and my struggle for recovery and a positive body image are a big part of that life.

So, since this week is very near and dear to my heart, I thought that I would share some facts that I find important from the NEDA website, as well as some resources that I use and find helpful.

Males and Eating Disorders…

Image

It’s no surprise that eating disorder are normally written off as a, “girl issue.: They effect males too, and often it’s much harder for them to get help due to being embarrassed because of this misconception. When I was in the hospital, half of my fellow ED patients in day program were male.

Binge Eating Disorder, or BED.

Image

Image

BED is actually the most common type of eating disorder, though it is also the least talked about one. It is something that people seem to just write off as, “Oh, you just overeat.” But the difference between just overeating and binging is the mental state of the person. A binge is uncontrollable and, from what I have heard from friends who have struggled with it, horrifying. Since it is not taken seriously, hardly anyone (less than half) that suffers with BED receives help.

You can find more information and eating disorder facts on the NEDA website.

Some other resources that I find helpful in recovery and in helping others.

What Not to Say to Someone With an Eating Disorder – When you have an eating disorder, almost any type of compliment/advice/help that is given to the sufferer will be taken the wrong way. It’s hard to know just what to say, and it’s not your fault if you say the wrong thing… it’s hard to deal with someone in such a fragile emotional state. This is just a list of 7 things that would seem like good things to say that actually do more harm than good.

The Recovery Record App for iPhone – This is something that I recently discovered, and it’s a really great app. It’s a log for your food, but not in the traditional sense. While recording your calories/exchanges while in recovery is important, in some cases it can be damaging. Instead of logging food, nutrients, and calories, you log your food and fill out a little questionnaire about how that meal made you feel.

IMG_1219

It also includes some really helpful resources for those seeking help and/or support.

 

IMG_1220

 

Remember that there is no set point for being “sick enough” to have an eating disorder. If you think something is wrong with you or a loved one, no matter how small you may perceive said problem, please don’t hesitate to seek help.

You’re all beautiful and deserve happiness. Never forget that =)

Standard

Leave a Reply

