healthy living

Hey everyone.

I just first off want to thank any of you who read and supported my last post both on here and on my instagram. It was tough to write and I am almost embarrassed that I even have all of that personal information about me up on the internet… But honestly, one thing that I am trying to get myself to learn is that a mental illness is not your fault and it is not something to be ashamed of. There is such a stigma surrounding mental illnesses of all kinds, and it is wrong. People aren’t embarrassed of having the flu or any other kind of physical illness (although, if you have the runs, I would say some people are embarrassed of that haha!), so why should one feel like they have to be embarrassed by a mental illness?

Anyway, moving on to less serious things!

This week, my mom and I are doing the 5 Days Slim Down from the Tone It Up nutrition plan! I am embarrassed to say that I have never actually completed the full 5 days… While my diet really is predominantly clean, starches are my downfall. I always wind up having a couple of pretzels or something and saying, “screw it!” This week, I am confident that I can make it through the 5 days… And easily too! I have found myself craving processed carbohydrates (rice crackers, pretzels, etc.) less and less. Maybe this is due to the lack of access to fresh foods that I had at school? I don’t know, but I’m not complaining!

Dinner from last night: Tilapia with lemon pepper and tomatoes with steamed kale, asparagus, and broccoli and a bit of sriracha!

Dinner from last night: Tilapia with lemon pepper and tomatoes with steamed kale, asparagus, and broccoli and a bit of sriracha!

 

Also, the smoothie bowl obsession is still going strong…

IMG_4106

After this, I really want to try to do raw till 4 for a week (although, I need soy milk in my coffee and tea so that may be a struggle), or even the 7 Day Slim Down from my nutrition plan (way more strict than the 5 Day one that mom and I are doing). I really am not challenged by this cleanse at all and it’s kind of good feeling to know that I am doing well with eating mostly natural and unprocessed foods!

Another part of the cleanse that I already do every day anyway is doing a workout in the morning (you are supposed to do a HIIT workout, but I typically do a strength workout since I can do it in my room in my pajamas haha, and then I do cardio later). This morning, I fought the desire to just workout in my room in my pajamas and decided to head over to the gym to knock out my cardio first thing in the morning.

SPRING-INTO-SUMMER-CARDIO-600x600

3.81 miles covered first thing in the morning! …Followed up by a smoothie bowl… I know, shocker.

One of my major goals for this summer (besides getting a job *sigh*), is to really get my stuff together. Part of this includes nourishing my body with good healthy foods and enough of it. I want to be healthy and vibrant and I want to be strong and successful and as lame as it sounds, I feel like a healthy diet is a crucial component to real success in life. I feel like I completely wasted this past year of my life and spent it digging myself deeper into a hole that I have been trying to get out of for years. Well, now is as good a time as any for a fresh start, and I intend to take full advantage!

A new school in a new city (the greatest city in the world actually) with new people and a new major… I am so full of hope for the future!

IMG_4109

Hope you’re all having a great day!

Standard

Leave a Reply

