Uncategorized

That Time I Was Stranded On The Parkway.


Hey guys!

Do you ever have days where you really don’t do much, yet you still feel like you were super busy that day?

No? Just me?

Oh… Well, today was one of those days.

I woke up, did a workout, had my breakfast (I’ll give you one guess as to what I had), and cleaned and cleaned and cleaned. I have been in one of those moods these past few days where I just want to clean everything, but nothing ever seems just right so I wind up cleaning things up just to mess them up again so I can clean it better…

I’m normal…

These past two days, I have been doing HIIT as my morning workout (my #bootycall to all my Tone It Up girls out there) instead of my normal toning workouts. My muscles have been extra sore this week, moreso than usual, so I didn’t really want to do anything to make the soreness worse.

Anyway, I know I am late to the party on this one, but I have discovered the absolute perfection that is FitnessBlender on Youtube! Their workouts are so quick and fun. I have done a couple of their 1000 calorie workouts before, but never any of their shorter workouts, and let me just say that I am hooked!

This morning I did a 30 minute HIIT routine with some abs thrown in. 10/10. Do recommend.

Screen Shot 2014-05-24 at 11.24.27 PM

For my main workout today was Insanity Cardio Strength and Resistance, an oldie but a goodie! Insanity will always be my go-to for cross-training.

So before I even talk about today (wait, I already have talked about today…), we need to discuss yesterday.

So yesterday, I had the house to myself for a bit while my brother was at school (mom was working and I was watching him), I originally was planning on doing Insanity for my workout, but I was just craving a good run like none other. Since there was nothing keeping me at home, I decided that I would take a drive out to one of my favorite running spots. This was at about 10:30am.

I got to the trail and ran a completely wonderful 5 miles whilst listening to an audiobook (I’ve never done this before and I have to say that I loved it! Such a fun change from listening to music).

IMG_4181

After the 5 miles, I had about a half mile walk back to my car, and that was when I realized something.

My car key was gone.

A few things:

  1. I felt like the biggest idiot on the planet.
  2. The key for my car is a hella expensive
  3. I was stranded on the side of a parkway.

Obviously, I freaked out.

I wound up running the 2 miles back to the end of the trail that I ran and spent the next 2 hours walking the several miles back to my car while looking for my key… And crying. There was an embarrassing amount of tears. People stared.

Lucky for me, my best friend Cody is the most amazing human being on the planet and came to pick me up. He also let me ugly cry in his car (You know, the kind of crying that involves a contorted face and A LOT of snot…cute!) and helped me walk back and look for my key one last time.

Then, right when we were about to give up and go home, something absolutely amazing happened.

Someone had put my car key on my windshield while we had been looking! How unreal is that?! It’ crazy to me, the person who found the key could have easily stolen the car, or someone else could have. The keys to the car were in plain sight! It really was a miracle!

I’m pretty sure I screamed and jumped up and down out of pure happiness for about 10 minutes… I think I embarrassed Cody haha.

At this point, it was almost 4 o’clock. I was emotionally drained and sweaty and puffy from crying. It was some day, let me tell you.

The moral of this story is… Be smarter than me and don’t lose your car keys. If I look at it from a positive point of view, at least I got a lot of exercise! I ran 7 miles and walked 4! Woohoo! =P

Now, I am going to leave you with a photo of the dinner that I made for my mom and I because it was awesome and there are not enough pictures in this post.

IMG_4192

Portobello mushroom cap pizzas (organic tomato-basil sauce and cottage cheese) and a sweet and salad kale salad with walnuts, cherry tomatoes, bell pepper, and spring mix. So simple. So healthy. So delicious. I also made some unpictured roasted sweet potato wedges with cinnamon, ginger, and a pinch of sea salt.

Questions:

Have you ever lost your keys.. or something of equal importance?

What did you have fore dinner tonight? How was it?

Standard

Leave a Reply

