Uncategorized

Hey, Don’t Judge Me On This…


Hey everyone! Happy Friday!

So something weird happened at breakfast this morning…

*dramatic music*

IMG_4283

Woah. Wait. What?

That’s not a smoothie bowl!

Yeah, I had oatmeal for breakfast this morning. Yeah, breaking out of my comfort zone… I like to live life on the edge.

Wow, I need to stop talking.

ANYWAY, what I really want to talk about is something that you all may think I’m crazy for even thinking about… But try not to judge!

So, if you have read this super heavy and serious post, it should come as no surprise to you that I attend some form of therapy almost weekly. I can’t even begin to name all of the different types of therapies I have tried over the past few years. I used to be extremely secretive and ashamed of the fact that I went to therapy. I mean, it’s hard not to feel some sort of shame about that type of thing. There is one of those stupid stigmas surrounding therapy. If you attend it, you must be crazy right?

Wrong.

I think that I’m at a point in my life where I really don’t care who the hell knows that I go to therapy. If I can’t do something with someone because I have therapy that day, I straight up tell them. Being in therapy does not make you crazy. 

I’m very big on trying to challenge stigmas around mental illness and all things associated with it if you haven’t noticed… haha.

Now, getting off my soap box, I am going to get what I really wanted to talk about in this post.

Like I said earlier, I have tried countless forms of therapy. Traditional talk therapy, psychiatry, meditation… etc. I just really wanted to find something that actually works for me. And I think that, finally, I may have.

I am a huge advocate of holistic approaches to medicine and healing. I see a chiropractor and acupuncturist regularly, and I am lucky enough to have a mother who as into holistic healing as I am. I know that a few of you are probably rolling your eyes at me right now, again, stigma around this sort of thing =P.

shannon-beador-and-the-energy-healer

I swear, I’m not one to let some “doctor” stick crystals all over me and tell me that in a past life I was a leopard or something… But I really do believe in the power of traditional Chinese medicine, and I believe it is an amazing tool to both fully heal without drugs and that it fills in the gaps where Western medicine fails.

Anyway, the type of therapy that I have been attending for … wow… probably over a year now, has been a combination of mediation, hypnosis, and talk therapy, and my therapist is amazing. She is just such a wonderful and positive soul and she really cares (I find that a lot of traditional therapists distance themselves emotionally and just kind of stare blankly at you as you basically sit there on your cushy chair and cry… not fun).

The type of work that we do focuses mostly on trying to reach my subconscious mind. This helps “shake loose” suppressed thoughts, ideas, and memories that I may not even know I have! However, I am apparently a more difficult case, and what we have been doing this past year hasn’t been creating the results that I was supposed to get… So we are trying something new, and I can’t be more excited!

IMG_4272

Therapy bathroom selfies because… Why not?

So we got onto the topic of past lives, and I know, ridiculous right? I don’t really think that I believe in the idea of past lives, but at the same time, I am willing to try anything that will help me… So we are going to do some work trying to get me to see my past lives!

We had been discussing fears and phobias that I are seemingly inborn. When I was little, I used to shake and hyperventilate any time a character on a television show got stuck (think Winnie the Pooh getting stuck in the hold to Rabbit’s house). Weird right? So apparently that could mean that in a past life I was tortured or something.

I’m actually laughing while typing this. Doesn’t it sound ridiculous?

Next week, my therapist is giving me a book written by a (famous) psychiatrist who does his work solely through the exploration of past life. Now, like I said earlier, this sounds like a load of mumbo-jumbo to me… But at the same time, I am kind of excited to learn more about this particular approach to therapy!

I thought that it might be fun to document what occurs in these sessions that I will be attending throughout the next couple of months. Would anyone be interested?

Now, I am off to go to the chiropractor, and then I will tend to my holistic herb garden whilst I make medicine out of clay and rocks.

Peace out.

**I really hope that nothing that I have spoken about in this post has been offensive. I really do believe whole-heartedly in holistic approaches to healing and I has such a strong interest in exploring all forms of holistic medicine. I am completely open minded and non-judging of any of this** 

Standard

One thought on “Hey, Don’t Judge Me On This…

  1. Pingback: (A Late) National Running Day |

Leave a Reply

