Uncategorized

Hey! How’s your Saturday going?

I woke up at around 7 this morning and headed out for my long run of the week (I used to do Sunday, but now, since I run with my girlfriends on Sundays, I do it on Saturdays). I covered a rocky 8 miles, my allergies were destroying me. YOU CAN ACTUALLY SEE THE PARTICLES OF POLLEN IN THE AIR! It’s insane! However, I muddled through. Was my face completely swollen and was my throat puffy and itchy by the end? Yes. But I did it!

Post-run, I showered and made a smoothie bowl… I didn’t have on yesterday, so I obviously I have to have about five of them today to make up for it!

IMG_4303

Frozen banana, ice, coconut milk, carob powder, cocoa powder, stevia, peppermint extract, and a handful of spinach. SO GOOD! I topped the bowl off with a couple of nuts and some freeze dried strawberries. I also enjoyed some out-of-this-world black berries on the side. I don’t know what it is about Trader Joe’s, but I swear that they always have the tastiest produce.

Oh, and I had some of this before my run this morning.

IMG_4289

On a side note – Erin needs to do her nails ASAP.

“What is that?” You ask? Well, it’s some grain-free vegan cinnamon walnut bread that I whipped up last night! The taste is on point, but the consistency is a bit weird. It’s pretty mushy and falls apart if it isn’t refrigerated. Still, it did the trick as some pre-run fuel!

IMG_4290

 

Speaking of things that I made last night, there was one recipe that came out successful.

IMG_4298

Vegan. Mushroom. Tacos.

Oh yes.

I was really craving something spicy and taco-ish last night, but I was also craving something really fresh, so I threw some things together and it came out perfect if I do say so myself.

Here’s what I did –

I cut up a few mushrooms (I used crimini, but I would assume that any would works) and 1/4 of an onion. I then sautéed them until soft and added cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and paprika to the mix and tossed until fully cooked. I then spooned the mixture onto three (cleaned) romaine hearts and topped with some salsa and a sprinkle of nutritional yeast for some cheesy-ness.

So easy. So good.

I also used some non-fat greek yogurt as sour cream to top, obviously de-veganizing the whole shebang. Still delicious and healthy though!

IMG_4297

Hope you all have an amazing day!

Questions:

What was the last thing you cooked? How was it?

Any fun plans for the weekend?

Standard

Leave a Reply

