Mental Health Monday, Uncategorized

Mental Health Monday – Holistic Remedies for Anxiety


Hey everyone!

I’m reading over (and cringing at) last night’s post. Wow was I a mess… But, looking over my anxiety-induced ramblings got me thinking now about what I can’t control, but what I can.

I have been dealing with extreme anxiety and depression for over 10 years now, and although it doesn’t look like it most days, I have come a long way. So, I thought that maybe it would be fun to do a little series (I’m not sure if it will be weekly or bi-weekly yet) on mental health and the restoration of it!

Obviously I am not a doctor, medical professional, or expert. I am simply a girl who has been dealing with a plethora of different mental issues for a majority of her life. I have tried every type of healing under the sun from medication to yoga to herbs. I just want to share what I know as I think that it may be helpful! Consult a medical professional if you have any concerns about maybe trying a new way of mental health restoration.

While western medicine is great in so many ways, I find that it falls short when it comes to healing mental ailments. Too often a doctor will simply look at your symptom, diagnose you, and prescribe some type of medicine that will only dull the issue. It is made to appear as though there is no real cure for mental illness, and that the only way to go on living your life as a fully-funtioning human being is to be on some medication that makes you feel less like yourself and more like a zombie for the rest of your days.

I just don’t agree with that.

And that is exactly why I choose holistic approaches to healing over western medicine 99% of the time.

Today I want to focus on anxiety. Unfortunately, I have yet to find an actual “cure” for anxiety sufferers. Trust me, if I find some miracle cure, you will be the first to know.

Although I don’t know how to banish severe anxiety and panic attacks for forever, I have definitely found a few holistic remedies that can help you live your life without having a complete meltdown every time you are thrown into a high pressure situation.

1. GABA

– GABA (gamma-minobutyric acid) is an amino acid derivative and a key inhibitory neurotransmitter. Neurotransmitters are chemical messengers that carry information between nerve cells or from nerve cells to other target cells. GABA is synthesized directly from glutamic acid. It has an inhibitory effect on the firing of neurons and supports a calm mood. (source)

If there was but one anti-anxiety remedy that I could recommend, GABA would be it. As stated above, GABA is a neurotransmitter that is already found in your brain. These pills don’t completely eliminate anxiety when the anxiety is severe (if you are having a full-blown panic attack, you won’t all of a sudden be completely calm), but it definitely makes the anxiety more bearable. During some of my worst days, I take 1-2 pills a couple times a day to keep myself relatively calm throughout the day and I don’t know if I would have gotten through my last semester of college without this stuff. It’s a true miracle worker.

l_sr-5272

2. Rescue Remedy

BachProducts-All-SM

Rescue Remedy is a calming blend of different “remedies,” or flowers and herbs.

This mix was created by Dr Bach to deal with emergencies and crises – the moments when there is no time to make a proper individual selection of remedies. It can be used to help us get through any stressful situations, from last-minute exam or interview nerves, to the aftermath of an accident or bad news. Rescue Remedy helps us relax, get focused and get the needed calmness. (source)

The great thing about Rescue Remedy is that it comes in a ridiculous amount of different forms. There is a spray form (I use this), gum, liquid drops, and more. It also can be used both topically and by being ingested.

Rescue Remedy (in my opinion) is not as effective at relieving severe anxiety as GABA is, but it definitely assists in taking the edge off. Also, because it comes in the form of a piece of gum, it can easily be used in situations such as at school or work where taking a pill would not be appropriate. Also, because it can be used topically, a quick spray on your chest before going into class or a meeting can help quickly alleviate some nerves and bad thoughts.

I find Rescue Remedy at my local health food store, but it can be purchased online here.

3. This last remedy is a given, but it has to be said.

Exercise.

Getting your body moving, whether it be for a long run or a quick 10 minute yoga session is probably the absolute best and most natural way to deal with anxiety and clear your mind while also improving your health and fitness. It’s an all in one healing session!
Also, it’s definitely cheaper than going out and buying a whole bunch of products!

be45201535255bbe47e167c8fac0a6a2

I hope you found this post somewhat helpful!

Question(s):

How do you deal with stress/anxiety?

Standard

One thought on “Mental Health Monday – Holistic Remedies for Anxiety

  1. Pingback: Mental Health Monday – Romanticizing Mental Illness and Introvert vs. Social Phobia |

Leave a Reply

