life, Uncategorized, WIAW

WIAW Wednesday: It’s Not About Perfection


Hey everyone! Happy Wednesday!

Today is an absolutely amazing day becauuuseeeee… *drum roll*

We welcomed the newest member of our family into the world today!

As I mentioned yesterday, my cousin had her C-Section scheduled for today! All went well, the baby is healthy, and… it’s a boy!

I’m so happy for my cousins and am so excited the have a new baby in the family!

 

Before all the baby madness began today, I got up early to get in a swim workout!

IMG_5445

My workout looked like this:

  • 300m freestyle warm up
  • 4x50m sprints IM format (butterfly, backstroke, breaststroke, freestyle)
  • 400m freestyle (comfortably hard pace)
  • 300m freestyle (comfortably hard pace)
  • 200m freestyle (comfortably hard pace)
  • 100m freestyle (hard pace)
  • 4x50m sprints IM format
  • 300m freestyle cool down

Done! The workout in it’s entirety took around 45 minutes.

Then it was time to shower and start my day!

IMG_5449

Yes, I made the picture black and white in an attempt to make it a smidgen less horrifying looking… This is what less than 4 hours of sleep a night, each and every night, will do to you.

I have to say, swim workouts are the toughest for me when it comes to getting myself motivated to do them (for some reason throwing myself into a pool of cold water first thing in the morning doesn’t exactly evoke little-kid-on-Christmas-morning excitement within me), but I am always put in the absolute best mood after I complete them. Maybe it has something to do with memories of hot summer mornings and swim team from when I was younger?

Now onto the main point of this post, What I Ate Wednesday!

WIAWbutton

Thanks to Jenn for creating such fun link up!

If you have ever read a food/healthy living blog before, I am sure that you are all too familiar with the infamous WIAW posts. If you have no idea what I am talking about, then you can read about What I Ate Wednesday here.

I have wanted to do WIAW every Wednesday since first starting this blog. However, I always fail to do so. And why is that?

Because I can never get it perfect.

I have mentioned this many times, but I am a chronic grazer. I typically pick at food all throughout the day in lieu of set out snacks between meals (sometimes even my meals are simply larger graze fests). Because of this, I never am able to snap a picture of each and every thing I eat. I mean, when I take one pretzel stick out of the cabinet and dip it in hummus, the last thing I think to do is whip out my camera to document the occasion.

Every week, I give myself the goal of snapping pictures of all of my eats, and every week I fail. This leads to beating myself up and feeling like a failure for not being able to participate in what it, to my knowledge, the most widely known link up among bloggers.

Then, something on the official WIAW post on Jenn’s blog caught my eye.

–What WIAW isn’t about—-
Comparison – Judgement – Restriction – Guilt

—-What WIAW is about—-
Celebrating one of the glorious things we all have in common: We all eat!

WIAW is about food and fun! It’s about making new friends, breaking out of a food rut, noting changes in your diet/lifestyle, inspiring yourself & others, embracing fruit & vegetables, nourishing your body with the foods that work for you, finding new ways to eat your favorite foods, and so. much. more. ❤

No judgement or guilt… Sounds like something I need to remember.

So I decided, who says that my post has to be perfect? I photographed my main meals to share, and I can just maybe mention whatever is unpictured. Is that really the end of the world?

I think not.

So without further ado… Let’s get to it!

Breakfast –

IMG_3830

Surprise surprise… A smoothie bowl.

In the mix: frozen banana, cashew milk, chocolate stevia drops, and peppermint extract. Topped off with a drizzle of maple syrup and some freeze-dried strawberries!

Unpictured – A small sliver of date nut bread pre-workout and some frozen mango and TJ’s coconut “chips”  while blending up breakfast.

Morning treat – Coffee<3

IMG_5468

Not really a meal, but my iced coffee looked too pretty not to share.

Lunch – Snack plate!

IMG_3790

In addition to my smoothie bowl addiction, I also seem to have developed an addiction to snack plates in lieu of real meals. Celery, broccoli, carrots, cucumber, romaine, turkey, pretzels, and rice snaps with a spread of dips.

IMG_3793

New find from Trader Joe’s… Don’t know how I feel about it.

IMG_3797

Another new find. I am a lover of all things mustard, so this is a winner.

IMG_3799

 

A really horrible picture of homemade salsa that  I threw together.

Snacks – unpictured

Throughout the day I snacked on more pretzels and rice snaps with hummus as well as more veggies, some nuts, more coconut… And a whole bunch of other things that I can’t even remember.

Dinner – 

Dinner was a repeat of lunch (legitimately the same exact thing)

I also picked at this beauty while making it.

IMG_3803

Grilled pizza! I rolled out some whole wheat dough and brushed it with olive oil and threw it on the grill. After flipping it, I sprinkled some garlic salt on it before topping it with organic marinara sauce, part-skim mozzarella (fresh), and italian herbs! I made this for my cousins (the ones who had the baby today)… But my aunt, mom, and myself all had to sample quite a bit of it before packing it up (in a pizza box that was in the house from earlier in the day… yay recycling)… You know… To make sure it was safe.

Finally, I walked the pizza over to their house and ended my night on the couch with my cousins watching America’s Got Talent.

Done!

Well that was my first WIAW.

Now off to bed… Tomorrow is going to be hectic. I’m kinda-sorta really dreading it…

Question(s):

Best thing you ate today?

 

 

Standard

One thought on “WIAW Wednesday: It’s Not About Perfection

  1. Pingback: WIAW 9.3.2014 – College Edition |

Leave a Reply

