thinking out loud

Thinking Out Loud – 7.10.2014 Upsides and Downsides


It’s that time of the week again to spew all those random thoughts of mine.

Wait… Don’t I do that every day?

20140703-233615-84975169.jpg

Thanks again Amanda for creating this link up!

1. IMG_5469.JPG 6 miles this morning to start my day and I loved every minute of it… Except for the fact that I had some knee pain. I’m hoping to go for acupuncture on Tuesday. It’s tough to get an appointment because my acupuncturist only has hours on Tuesday and Saturday mornings and I can never seem to get in!

2. On the up side, my pace was more around where it was pre-injury for an easy run.

IMG_5471

3. I’m just going to whine for a moment and say how badly I wanted to run more than just 6 miles today and that I’m extremely bummed that 6 miles is what my so-called, “long run,” will be for the week.

4. On the upside, I’m proud of myself for actually listening to my body and not feeling (too) guilty about not running as much as I would like to. I know that taking it slow with getting back into running will be best for me in the long run!

5. We started regression work in therapy today and I really don’t know how I feel about it. Basically, I was put into a state of deep relaxation (state of hypnosis) and was guided in  “rolling back” through my life, trying to access memories from my childhood and then, later, my past lives. It was a really bizarre experience…

At first I felt like I was sitting in the back of a cart or pick-up truck of some kind and I saw a gravel road and fields and I felt like I was moving. I actually felt like I was having motion sickness.

When trying to roll back to a different memory from this “past life” (I don’t know if I actually believe in past lives), I felt like I was bound. I couldn’t move my arms or legs and I felt like I was being pressed down. I freaked out and jolted myself out of the scene… or memory? I’m not quite sure what to call it.

I have also felt extremely sick and off-kilter since then. I was actually nervous about driving home from the appointment because I felt so weird.

5. Upside(s) –

My shirt made me way happier than it should have.

IMG_5474

Doesn’t it look like something that I could have stolen from my little brother’s closet?

It’s from SheInside and I love it.

This.

IMG_5483.JPG

I picked this up from the health food store that is by my therapist’s office and I can’t even handle how delicious it was! I will be purchases this again next time I’m craving something that’s not water!

6. I had work tonight and it was absolutely brutal. With already feeling so sick from earlier, I seriously felt like I was going to pass out the whole night and the restaurant was so busy.

7. Upside – I’m home now and I don’t have to do it again until Sunday.

Finally, here’s something that I found in one of the books in Joanne’s (my therapist) office today.

IMG_5479.JPG

This was on the first page that I opened up to and I want to think that I opened up to that page for a reason.

Illness sucks, whether it be mental or physical… But you really do always get something out of it. Between my eating disorder and my losing my dad, along with other family members, to cancer… I have learned a lot. I have grown and have learned to look at the world differently. It seems twisted to say that anything good has come out of tragedy… But everything happens for  reason right?

Question(s):

What’s on your mind?

Do you agree with the quote on illness? Or do you see no benefit whatsoever?

Standard

One thought on “Thinking Out Loud – 7.10.2014 Upsides and Downsides

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites 7.11.2014 |

Leave a Reply

