Friday Favorites, Uncategorized

Friday Favorites 7.18.2014


Hey everyone!

It’s the end of yet another week. Does that terrify anyone else? Summer is seriously flying by far faster than I am comfortable with. I move into my room at my new school in just a little over a month.

Crazy stuff.

My morning began with waking up much later than usual… Well technically, I woke up at around 6:30am as per usual, but I actually managed to fall back into a light sleep until almost 8am! However, I didn’t get home last night until after one in the morning… So I’m still running on around 5 hours of sleep.

Waking up later than I am used to always winds up throwing my day off. I spent some time debating whether to go to the gym for a pool workout, or to forgo it in favor of an at-home workout for the sake of time.

Thank God I wound up choosing the pool workout because it was my best one to date!

Warmup – 50m freestyle, 100m breaststroke, 200m freestyle

Endurance Work – Nonstop swimming. No rest between sets.

100m freestyle pull

          100m freestyle kick

         100m freestyle

         repeat 2x… No rest in-between sets

Sprints –

4 x 50m IM style sprints (butterfly, backstroke, breaststroke, freestyle)

4 x 25m freestyle sprint

repeat 2x

Cooldown – 400m freestyle

And of course, I had to have an acai bowl post-workout. It had been a couple of days since my last bowl of frosty fruity goodness (I’m cringing at that description of my acai bowls), so I was definitely in desperate need of one!

IMG_5814

(I was too hungry to take the time to take a pretty acai bowl picture…)

And now, here are a couple of things I have been loving lately!

1. Favorite Workout

Yesterday’s run. Hands down my best and happiest run in a long while.

IMG_5796

IMG_5782

I’m sorry, but I just can’t even deal with how beautiful it was.

Still rocking my knee brace though.

IMG_5801

 

2. Favorite Eat:

Wednesday’s dinner at the Dockside Bar and Grill in Sag Harbor has to have been the best thing I have eaten in a long while.

20140716-002414-1454661.jpg

Any place that will serve me a portion of broccoli and asparagus that is larger than my head is a winner in my book.

They also make the tortilla chips (unpictured) that they serve with guacamole and salsa right before they bring them out to you so they are warm and delicious and perfect.

3. Favorite Listen:

Been jamming out to “Infamous” by the band Motionless in White all week. It’s not as much of a good song as it is a catchy one. It also gets me super pumped up during workouts!

IMG_5802

4. Favorite Links

1. I need to make this summer soup like… now.

2. Ever since my experimentation with raw vegan sushi, I have been wanting to to            dabble more in the use of nori in recipes. These “snack wraps” are definitely on my, “must try,” list!

3. I just found The Detoxinista blog the other day and I am hooked! I want to try     everything!

5. Favorite Look

tumblr_n8ecg33uFS1qhsmllo1_1280

(source)

tumblr_n8crqkGXcF1qmjpxoo1_500

(source)

I don’t think you understand how badly I want a pair of overalls… I mean, I already get mistaken for a 12 year old on a daily basis (I’m not even joking), so why not just roll with it and fully commit to the look?

In all seriousness though, I think overalls are pretty rad looking when worn the right way.

I hope you all have a great day/evening!

Question(s):

What do you think of Friday Favorites posts? Do they seem like nothing more than fillers on the blog or are they actually fun? Personally, I like them. I need to get more organized in keeping a list of things that I read and see and eat over the course of the week so that I can make these posts better.

Overalls? Love them? Hate them? Wish that they would all be set on fire in a mass overall sacrifice? Let me know!

Standard

Leave a Reply

