Uncategorized

Are You Holding Yourself Back? A Challenge


Hey everyone! How is your Saturday going?

I started my day with yet another amazing run. It must be the weather (it’s been overcast and cloudy with temperatures in the mid to high 60s, aka, my favorite running weather) or something because I have just been in the happiest place ever running-wise this week!

IMG_5821

5 miles at a comfortable pace that I am actually happy with! I know that my average pace may seem pretty slow to a lot of people, but coming off an injury, I’m just happy that my pace is back to being where it was pre-injury! Now to get back into speed work. I definitely need to ease myself into it since my knee still isn’t feeling 100%, but I think I’m going to start incorporating a couple of speed workouts into my routine next week!

You can probably guess what I ate post run, so I am going to spare you from having to see yet another acai bowl photo.

Also, I may or may not have forgotten to photograph it. Oh well.

What I really want to talk about today is a topic that has been on my mind for a couple of days now. I was going to wait until Monday to post this as a Mental Health Monday  post… But I just couldn’t wait anymore.

What I want to discuss is holding yourself back from achieving your goals.

Quick backstory on why this particular topic came to mind… Basically, on Wednesday I had what was one of worst panic attack of my entire life. I suffer from severe anxiety, and panic attacks aren’t exactly a rarity in my life. But there are a only a handful of cases where my panic attacks have been this severe. It was humiliating and shameful and I wound up hyperventilating in the back of my car instead of eating dinner at a nice restaurant with my mother like I should have been.

Wow, I hate even admitting that that happened.

Anyway, after things had slightly cooled down, my mom (bless her soul) came to talk to me. It wasn’t exactly a calm or pleasant conversation, but there was one thing in particular that she told me.

She said that I am constantly telling myself why I can’t do things because of my anxiety, lack of time, etc.

Work causes anxiety. I can’t handle it.

I can’t go to *insert outing here* because I need time or I have anxiety.

And what happens when I tell myself these things? My anxiety get really bad and I wind up, in fact, not being able to handle what should be simple daily tasks like going to my part time job (obviously I go, but I spend every moment that I’m not working freaking out about going), or going to a friend’s house, or even the grocery store!

The problem with this kind of thinking is that you are a self-fulfilling prophecy. If you tell yourself that something is impossible, odds are that it will become impossible. However, if you tell yourself that something is possible, it likely will be (within reason of course… I don’t think you will suddenly be able to fly simply because you tell yourself that you can).

Sounds simple right?

Well, if talking yourself up instead of down is something that you do naturally, then good on you. I’m jealous! However, if you are more like me and have a nasty habit of working yourself up to the point of paralyzation… Then let’s chat.

This way of thinking needs to change.

So I’m issuing you a challenge.

For this upcoming week, I want you to write down every time you have a thought of why you “can’t” do something. For example, right now I am going to write, “I can’t handle working tomorrow night,” down in my little pink notebook that I keep on my bedside.

After writing down the thought, I want you to cross it out.

That’s right.

Now, write the opposite thought next to the one you just crossed out.

Work will be ok. Everything is ok.

Underline it, write is in all caps. Heck, write it in glitter pen. Make sure that that affirmation is heard loud and clear in your mind.

I know it seems silly, but writing down the bad thoughts and physically crossing them out to replace them with good ones is the first step towards crossing out and replacing the thoughts in your own head.

Remember positive affirmations? Yeah. They’re a good thing, even if they feel a bit silly and pointless.

Humor me ok?

I’ll be checking in with my positive changes all throughout this week, and I hope that you will participate and share your logs with me!

Let’s do this!

Standard

One thought on “Are You Holding Yourself Back? A Challenge

  1. Pingback: SMART Goal Setting + My Goals For The Week |

Leave a Reply

