Uncategorized

Orientation And I Really Like Salad Bars


Hey everyone!
I’m feeling a little bit more ok than I did yesterday. Still feeling really bad body-image wise and I’m feeling very unmotivated workout wise… But my anxiety hasn’t been bad today so I am thankful for that!

Workout:

This morning started off with a 5:30am wakeup call to complete Insanity Pure Cardio before having to get ready and leave for the train into the city for orientation!

vlcsnap-2009-11-22-21h13m33s163-1

The high point of my morning was the fact that I got this coffee for free.

IMG_6252

 

I was in desperate need of coffee, so I grabbed a cup from the coffee “shop” (it’s a table in the waiting area) at my train station… Only to realize that I didn’t have any cash on me.

I apologized a million times to the guy working and as I went to walk away he told me that I could just take the coffee with me.

God bless the good people in the world.

My day also included getting kicked in the shin by a woman on the subway because I was too close to her (it’s a crowded New York City subway.. there was no where else for me to be) and winding up on the wrong train home and winding up stranded in a town pretty far from home without any phone (it had died).

Such fun.

On the up side, orientation went well and I feel like I know the school a little bit better now! Apparently there are 4 levels to the basement of the main building and there is a gym, racquetball courts, and fitness studios down there for students to use. How cool is that?

Also, THEY HAVE SPIN CLASSES! I haven’t taken a spin class since school ended because you need to sign up for spin at my gym 24 hours in advanced and I always get too freaked out to call the gym… So I’m super excited to be able to get back into it once school starts! I also really want to try to get my spin instructor’s certification this year. I had meant to get it last January, but life happened and I never got around to it.

IMG_6263 IMG_6264

I really do love the city.

 

IMG_6258

 

And it’s been a while since I have posted a creepy photo of myself on the good ‘ol blog, so here you go.

Another thing I realized today is that I have an unnatural obsession with salad bars. I don’t know if it’s because they seem to be nonexistent where I live or that I like the idea of serving myself things or what, but I literally can never pass up a good salad bar.

IMG_6266

I went into one of the little food marts in Penn Station to get a drink and walked out with this little snack. The roasted cauliflower got me. I looked so good that I couldn’t pass it up. There were also some (insanely good) mushrooms and squash(es?) in there with sweet potato and a small portion of cole slaw because apparently I love that all of a sudden.

Oh! And beets!

When I finally got home, I found out that my mom was/is really sick and was in bed so I went out to get some soup for her.

And wound up picking up a small portion of goodies from the grocery store’s salad bar…

IMG_6273-1

This may be the grossest looking photo I have ever seen.

The only issue that I have with salad bars is the fact that they go by weight and me, being the cheap person that I am, always wind up getting pretty much nothing but still having to pay a lot because I tend to gravitate towards the heavier items like beets.

Seriously though, there are no places that I know of with good salad bars where I live. Heck, the closest Whole Foods is almost  45 minutes away! Yes, I do love the salad bar at that wonderful establishment… but not enough to drive for over an hour for it.

You know where seems to have good salad bars? Utah. I always see Janae and Megan posting these awesome salads (um… I need to experience Cafe Rio at some point in my life) and now I’m just thinking about food and rambling about salads and I think that that may indicate that it is time for bed.

A lot to get done tomorrow. I will talk to you all then!

Goodnight!

Standard

Leave a Reply

